With All My Heart

Hello, thanks for visiting! This is my first attempt at a blog ever, so bear with me! I started a wonderful online Bible study(OBS) hosted by Melissa Taylor, based on the book by Lysa TerKeurst; “What Happens When Women Say Yes To God.” There are many great tools to get involved and connected along with the thousands of other women who joined the study. One of the events is a blog hop. This was my first time hearing the term or what it entails. I knew that In order to participate in the blog hop I needed a blog… I did not have one and to be honest I had no intention to create one….

However.. I said YES to God. 

I said Yes to God about this OBS, then He met me in a huge way after reading Chapter 1 of the book. Then I said “Yes” and fully  committed  to Him and what He says to do. That means pressing forward even if it destroys my comfort zone. What keeps me in my comfort zone? Without a doubt the answer is FEAR.  I struggle with fear. It became a revelation to me over these past few days. I knew that I was a worrier and anxious sort of person, but until I sat down and began to dig deep within myself and in God’s Word I realized fear has plagued my entire life, from the first traumatic event in my early childhood to the fearful prayer I whispered just last night to please, please, protect my children while they slept. Now, I clearly see the task of pressing through this fear is much greater than I first thought. It isn’t just anxious feelings or nervous butterflies, it is my way of life; it is my story. So how can I change what is so rooted within my soul? I’m not sure, though I know the place to start. Yesterday God reminded me that “perfect love drives out fear.” Love, the greatest of all things is the perfect place to begin. Which brings me to the OBS memory verse for this week:

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your strength.”  Deuteronomy 6:5

It is a classic verse and the greatest commandment.  When I love the Lord my God with all my HEART, with all my SOUL and all my STRENGTH, there is no room for fear.  Fear is cast out. driven away.

We are not perfect, but we are perfectly equipped.

A phrase from the book that spoke to me from page 13 is: we are not perfect, but we are perfectly equipped. I am paraphrasing slightly from Lysa’s words… So while I am not able on my own to Love with all my heart soul and strength perfectly, I am perfectly equipped to because the One who is Love resides in me.  Wow.. God is moving in the hearts of thousands of women and I feel blessed to also be one that said yes, and commit myself to loving God with all my heart my soul and my strength.

6 thoughts on “With All My Heart

  1. Wonderfully moving post!! Great job for your first time;) I too struggle with anxiety and fear. I believe it all stems back from losing a sister at a very young age and then losing both of my parents. But we are reminded in 1 Peter 5:7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. You wouldn’t be a Mom without worrying, but if you are equipped with all that God needs you to be, then you should start to feel the weight of the anxiety & fear falling away.

    Blessings to you in your journey.

    • Thanks! I have read many blogs so I had the general gist of what to do but everything else is navigating muddy waters! I tried uploading pictures, forget it.. Perhaps this was meant to be a picture-less blog. 😉 Thank you for sharing some of your story. I feel very encouraged by your message. 🙂

Leave a Reply

